New Montana Law Allows Youth To Hunt Without Completing Hunter Education
The new Apprentice Hunter Program allows youth between the ages of 10-17 years to hunt with a Mentor even if they haven’t completed hunter education courses. The basic outline of the new rule is:
1) Apprentice must be between the ages of 10-17. 2) Mentor must be 21 years or older and be related to the apprentice by blood, adoption or marriage, or legal guardian. They must have current Montana hunting license and have completed hunter education. 3) The apprentice must go to a FWP office and fill out a hunter apprentice form along with pay the $5 fee. They must also obtain all licenses for the species being hunted.
For more information and further details for the new Apprentice Hunter Law, Click Here.