Seven New MTFWP Game Wardens Graduated Friday
By Toby Trigger

Posted: April 3, 2016


Monday, March 28, 2016

Seven Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks game wardens graduated Friday, March 25 from the Montana Law Enforcement Academy in Helena.

The wardens were part of a 58 member class at the academy, which trains law enforcement officers from a variety of agencies around Montana, stressing the importance of teamwork, humility and character.

In Montana, FWP wardens have peace officer status and are often called to assist other agencies like county sheriff departments, Montana Highway Patrol and federal law enforcement officers.

“We ask our wardens to do a lot in Montana and it’s crucial they have the very best training,” said Tom Flowers, FWP Chief of Law Enforcement. “We’re proud of our wardens and their accomplishments at the academy. This is a great step in preparing them to serve the people of Montana.”

The Montana Law Enforcement Academy basic Law Enforcement Officer program is nearly three-months long, with three sessions each year – winter, spring and fall. Wardens typically attend either the winter or spring session within the first year of their employment with the department. The training is followed by 12 weeks of warden field training before there are ready to be out on their own.

During the past year, FWP has hired 15 wardens and this academy class has a higher than average number of warden graduates. The spring academy session will include five wardens.

Graduating Friday were the following wardens:

  • Brady Murphy from Whitehall who will be stationed in Augusta.
  • Ben Gleason from Billings who will be stationed in Hardin.
  • Tim Fawell is from Illinois, went to college in Missoula, and will be stationed in Broadus.
  • Andrew Mohr is from Illinois, went to college in Missoula, and will be stationed in Jordan.
  • Zachary Phillips from Belgrade who will be stationed in Baker.
  • Chris Neu from Big Fork who will work in FWP Region 1 with a focus on state parks.
  • Connor Langel from Helena who will be will be stationed in Colstrip.

Additionally, Mohr received the Health and Physical Fitness Award, which is given to the officer in each class who participates and excels in the Hard Rock Challenge and achieves the class’s best score in the Montana Physical Abilities Test.

Mohr also received the Alex Mavity Award, which is given to the student from each class who achieves the highest accumulated score on all academic and skills-based training. The award is given in honor of Billings Police Department Detective Alex Mavity, who was killed in the line of duty in 1989.

Ben Gleason received the Jimmy Kaaro award, which is given to the officer who achieves the highest level of academic standing in each class. The award is given in honor of retired Fergus County Sheriff Jimmy Kaaro.


News From

New Podcast!