Missoula Resource Advisory Committee accepting project proposals
By Moosetrack Megan

Posted: April 22, 2020

The Missoula Resource Advisory Committee (RAC) is now accepting new project proposals. The application deadline is August 1, 2020 and the committee has approximately $151,500 in project funding to award. Funding and administration for the Resource Advisory Committee is provided under the authority of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self–Determination Act (Title II). Projects must benefit National Forest System lands and ecosystems in Missoula County.

At least 50% of all funds must be used for projects primarily dedicated to restoring streams and watersheds, or road maintenance, decommissioning or removal. In addition, eligible projects may include those that improve Forest Service roads and trails, provide infrastructure maintenance, improve soil and forest ecosystem health, provide watershed restoration, maintain and improve wildlife and fish habitat, control noxious weeds, and re-establish native species. Projects may be on non-federal land, but must show a direct benefit to National Forest System lands.

Individuals are encouraged to submit their proposals as soon as possible. It is the responsibility of the proponent to coordinate with Forest Service staff and all other partners prior to submitting the proposal to ensure it is complete. Project applications and instructions on how to submit a proposal are available here.

Projects funded in the past include trail reconstruction, restoration of historical sites, improvement of wildlife habitat, treatment of invasive species, road improvements, riparian restoration, and recreational site improvements.

For more information or details on submitting a project proposal contact Kate Jerman, Missoula RAC Coordinator, at (406) 552-7944 or Katelyn.jerman@usda.gov.

About SRS Resource Advisory Committees: The Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000 was passed by Congress to restore stability and predictability to the annual payments made to states and counties containing National Forest System lands. The Act established Resource Advisory Committees, appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture and consisting of fifteen local citizens, “to improve collaborative relationships and to provide advice and recommendations to the land management agencies consistent with the purposes of the Act.”