By angelamontana

Posted: July 16, 2021

Stage-1 fire restrictions in effect until further notice

BOZEMAN – Stage-1 fire restrictions are in effect until further notice at most Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks properties in Granite, Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow and Madison counites due to high fire danger.

This follows Stage-1 fire restrictions being implemented by these counties.

Stage-1 restrictions ban campfires except where specifically exempted and allow smoking only in vehicles and areas 3 feet in diameter that are cleared of flammable materials. Exemptions are in place for Lost Creek, Lewis & Clark Caverns and Bannack state parks, where campfires are allowed only within established campfire rings. Campfires are banned at fishing access sites and wildlife management areas in these counties. Gas or propane stoves that can be turned on and off are still allowed.

Fireworks are always prohibited at FWP sites.

Affected sites in Granite County include: Drummond, Gillies Bridge, Stuart Mill Bay and Bearmouth fishing access sites; and Granite Ghost Town State Park.

Affected sites in Deer Lodge County include: Fishtrap, Sportsman’s Park and Stuart Mill Bay fishing access sites; Anaconda Stack State Park; and Blue Eyed Nellie, Garrity Mountain, Lost Creek, Mt. Haggin, Stucky Ridge, and Warm Springs wildlife management areas.

Affected access sites in Beaverhead County include: Blacktail Meadows, Corrals, Fishtrap Creek, George Grant Memorial, Glen, Grasshopper, Greenwood Bottoms, Henneberry, High Bridge, Kalista Bridge, Maidenrock, Pipe Organ, Poindexter Slough, Salmon Fly, Sportsman’s Park and Tony Schoonen fishing access sites; Clark’s Lookout State Park; and Blacktail and Robb-Ledford wildlife management areas.

Affected sites in Silver Bow County include: Maidenrock and Powerhouse fishing access sites; and Fleecer Mountain and Mt. Haggin wildlife management areas.

Affected sites in Madison County include: Alder Bridge, Brownes Bridge, Burnt Tree Hole, Cardwell Bridge, Damselfly, Eight Mile Ford, Ennis, Harrison Lake, Hell’s Canyon, Kountz Bridge, Lyons Bridge, McAtee Bridge, Meadow Lake, Raynold’s Pass, Ruby Dam, Ruby Island, Silver Springs Bridge, Silver Star, Three Dollar Bridge, Tony Schoonen, Valley Garden, Varney Bridge and Vigilante fishing access sites; and Bear Creek, Robb-Ledford and Wall Creek wildlife management areas.

Fire restrictions are in effect in other counties in Montana. For more information, please visit


New Podcast!