Stage One Fire Restrictions Ordered along the Missouri River
By Matt Schauer

Posted: August 3, 2012

The C.M. Russell National Wildlife Refuge and land along the Missouri River in Central Montana will go under Stage One fire restrictions beginning at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, August 3, 2012.

In a press release from FWP, Refuge Manager for the C.M. Russell National Wildlife Refuge, Rick Potts has this to say:

“In an effort to remain consistent with our partners, and to deliver a common fire danger message, the refuge will begin Stage 1 fire restrictions.

The continued hot and dry weather conditions have increased the potential for unwanted human-caused fires. Our firefighting personnel have been busy fighting lightning-caused fires and we would like to reduce the chance of them having to respond to fires caused by unattended campfires and other human activity.”

These restrictions will remain in effect until rescinded.

Under Stage One, building, maintaining, attending or using a fire or campfire is prohibited.  The only exception is if the fire is within an established, metal fire ring in a developed recreation site.

Here are the approved campfire locations:

  • Crooked Creek Recreation Area in Petroleum County
  • James Kipp Recreation Area in Fergus County
  • Fourchette Creek Recreation Area in Phillips County
  • Bone Trail, Pines Recreation Area, and Duck Creek Bay in Valley County

There is an exemption for people using a fire solely fueled by liquid petroleum or LPG.

Be very aware that even the smallest spark has the potential to cause major damage, so please do your part to prevent wildfires.

Although, most are common sense, here are some tips to avoid starting a wildfire:

  • Crush cigarettes dead out.
  • Never leave a campfire unattended.
  • Take precautions while recreating on public lands by always carrying a shovel, bucket and fire extinguisher.
  • Make sure your campfire is dead out before leaving your campsite.
  • Additionally, know the local fire restrictions before you plan to recreate on any public lands.

The Lewistown Fire Restrictions Area currently has restrictions in these counties:

  • Daniels
  • Blaine
  • Fergus
  • Golden Valley
  • Petroleum
  • Wheatland

For up-to-date fire restrictions information, please visit or call your local land management agency.

For more information, please contact:

  • The Bureau of Land Management at 406-538-1991
  • C.M. Russell National Wildlife Refuge at 535-2800
  • U.S. Army Corp of Engineers – Fort Peck Project at 406-526-3411
  • Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation at 406-538-7789
  • Or your local office of Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or your local fire department or sheriff’s office.
New Podcast!

Riley's Meats - Butte Wild Game Processing