FWP News: Fire restrictions lifted in Yellowstone, Big Horn, Treasure and Musselshell counties
By angelamontana

Posted: October 11, 2022

BILLINGS – County officials have lifted stage 1 fire restrictions in Yellowstone, Big Horn and Treasure counties. Musselshell County lifted stage 1 restrictions on Oct. 8 at 12:01 a.m., though Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks does not manage any sites in this county.

FWP follows the lead of local counties for fire restrictions. Under stage 1 restrictions, campfires at FWP sites are not allowed, and people may only smoke within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least 3 feet in diameter cleared of flammable materials. Campfires and smoking will again be allowed at all FWP sites in Yellowstone, Big Horn and Treasure counties, including fishing access sites (FAS), wildlife management areas (WMA) and state parks.

In Yellowstone County, this includes Buffalo Mirage FAS, Duck Creek FAS, Blue Creek FAS, South Hills FAS, East Bridge FAS, Voyager’s Rest FAS, Gritty Stone FAS, Bundy Bridge FAS, Captain Clark FAS, Manuel Lisa FAS, Broadview Pond FAS, Yellowstone WMA, Pictograph Cave State Park and Lake Elmo State Park.

FWP sites in Big Horn County include Big Horn FAS, Mallard’s Landing FAS, Two Leggins FAS, Arapooish FAS, Grant Marsh FAS and WMA, General Custer FAS, Chief Plenty Coups State Park, Rosebud Battlefield State Park and Tongue River Reservoir State Park.

Amelia Island FAS and WMA, Myers Bridge FAS and Isaac Homestead WMA are the FWP sites in Treasure County.

Though restrictions have been lifted, FWP urges the public to always use caution around open flames to reduce the risk of human-caused wildfires.


New Podcast!

Riley's Meats - Butte Wild Game Processing