montana wolf

Mandatory Wolf Trapping Classes Scheduled
By Matt Schauer

Posted: September 5, 2012

Montana’s first wolf trapping season opens December 15 and runs through February 28, 2013. Every trapper is required to participate in a wolf trapper certification class.

Online registration is now available for certification classes across Montana. The classes are free and open to anyone over 11 years-old. Class sizes are limited to 50 people. A trapping license will cost $20 for residents and $250 for non-residents.

Click here to register online.

Northwest Montana

Kalispell, Fairgrounds

  • Tuesday, Sep 18, 4 pm-10 pm
  • Saturday, Oct 13, 9 am-4 pm
  • Saturday, Dec 8,  9 am-4 pm
Eureka, River Stone Lodge, 5 miles north of Eureka
  • Saturday, Sep 15, 9 am-4 pm
Libby, Asa Wood School
  • Saturday, Sep 22, 9 am-4 pm
Trout Creek, Lakeside Motel
  • Saturday, Sep 29,  9 am-4 pm

North Central Montana

Billings, FWP Region 5 headquarters, 2300 Lake Elmo Drive
  • Saturday, Sept. 15, noon to 6 pm
  • Sunday, Sept. 16, noon to 6 pm
Great Falls, FWP Region 4 office, 4600 Giant Springs Road
  • Saturday, Sept. 29, 9 am-4 pm
  • Sunday, Oct. 14, 9 am-4 pm
Conrad, Pondera Shooting Sports Building, Granite Road
  • Saturday, Oct. 13, 9 am-4 pm

Missoula, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, 5705 Grant Creek Road

  • Saturday, Sept. 15, 9 am – 4pm
  • Wednesday, Sept. 19: 3 pm -10 pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 13, 9 am – 4 pm

Hamilton, Bitterroot River Inn, 139 Bitterroot Plaza Drive

  • Sunday, Sept. 16, 9 am – 4 pm
  • Sunday, Sept. 30, 9 am -4 pm

Greenough, Lubrecht Experimental Forest 38689 Hwy 200 East

  • Saturday, Sept. 22, 9 am – 4 pm

Lolo, Lolo Community Center 12345 Hwy 93 South

  • Sunday, Sept. 23, 9 am – 4 pm

Anaconda, Lee Metcalf Center 115 E Pennsylvania

  • Sunday, Oct. 14, 9 am – 4 pm

East Central Montana

Miles City, BLM Meeting Room, 111 Garryowen Road
  • Sunday, Sept. 30, 9 am – 4 pm
There are 28 classes offered statewide.  If you don’t see your city on this list, click here to see all scheduled classes.