By angelamontana

Posted: July 15, 2021

MILES CITY – Stage 1 fire restrictions are in place at Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks recreation sites in eight southeastern Montana counties right now, meaning that campfires and smoking are banned.

This week Garfield County Commissioners adopted Stage 1 fire restrictions, and FWP followed suit by banning campfires at Hell Creek State Park. The other counties in the region with Stage 1 fire restrictions are Custer, Bighorn, Rosebud, Richland, Dawson, Carter, Treasure and McCone.

Under Stage 1 restrictions, building, maintaining, attending or using a fire or campfire at FWP sites in these counties is not allowed. People also may not smoke except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site, or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is cleared of flammable materials. Recreationists may cook on a liquid petroleum gas or propane stove that can be turned on and off.

Custer-Twelve Mile Dam Fishing Access Site, Kinsey Bridge FAS, Roche Jaune FAS and Pirogue Island State Park.

Carter-South Sandstone FAS, Medicine Rocks State Park.

Dawson-Black Bridge FAS, Intake Dam FAS, Johnson Reservoir FAS, Stipek FAS, Three Mile Wildlife Management Area, War Dance Island WMA and Makoshika State Park.

Richland-Sidney Bridge FAS, Diamond Willow FAS, Gartside Reservoir FAS, Elk Island FAS and WMA, Seven Sisters WMA, Culbertson Bridge FAS and Snowden Bridge FAS.

Rosebud-Far West FAS, Rosebud East FAS and Rosebud West FAS.

Treasure-Amelia Island FAS and WMA, Myers Bridge FAS and Isaac Homestead WMA.

Bighorn-Tongue River Reservoir State Park and Rosebud Battlefield State Park.

These fire restrictions at FWP sites will be in place until further notice.

Before recreating, please check for restrictions by visiting the statewide fire restrictions website at


New Podcast!