Montana Facts: Delisted Species Information
By angelamontana

Posted: February 22, 2023

Did you know that Montana has three species on its list of delisted species?

The three species are:

  • Bald Eagle: After 41 years of federal protection under the Endangered Species Act of 1973 and its legal predecessors, the Bald Eagle was removed from the list of Threatened and Endangered Species in August of 2007. The breeding population of Bald Eagles now numbers over 10,000 pairs in the continental United States, from a low of 417 pairs in 1963.
  • Gray Wolf: FWP obtained full authority to manage wolves in Montana upon the federal delisting of the Rocky Mountain gray wolf in May 2011. FWP is committed to using its authority to responsibly manage Montana’s wolf population while addressing conflicts with livestock and other wildlife populations.
  • Peregrine Falcon: On August 20, 1999 the Peregrine Falcon was removed from the federal list of Threatened and Endangered Species. Peregrine Falcons first received federal protection as an endangered species in 1970 under the Endangered Species Conservation Act of 1969 and subsequently the Endangered Species Act of 1973. At that time they were considered extirpated from the eastern United States and showed population declines of 80-90% in the western United States. By 2003 there were an estimated 1,000 pairs in the western United States, excluding Alaska, and almost 1,500 pairs in the lower 48 states.

You can find more information on threatened, endangered and species of concern along with controlled and non-controlled exotic species, prohibited exotic species and aquatic invasive species on FWP’s website here.

New Podcast!

Riley's Meats - Butte Wild Game Processing